Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

SUMO STEW 3/19 @ Brooklyn Brewery

March 19 @ 8:00 pm - 11:00 pm

$60

Tuesday, March 19th, 8-11PM @ Brooklyn Brewery (79 N 11th St, Brooklyn, NY 11249)

Inspired by a trip to Japan, photographer Michael Harlan Turkell (harlanturk.com) returned to New York City with aspirations of importing this ancient sport and teamed up with Harry Rosenblum, founder of The Brooklyn Kitchen (thebrooklynkitchen.com), a center for culinary education. The two created a series based around plentiful bowls of chankonabe, the “sumo stew” wrestlers prepare and eat before matches. The hearty broth is loaded with fortifying protein and vegetables. This, paired with the live streamed bimonthly grand tournaments, makes for a lively event, bringing hungry first time and long-standing sumo fans ringside.

FOOD:
This round of SUMO STEW will feature a seasonal chankonabe (the sumo stew).

Every guest will also get a special bento box, composed of Japanese-inspired dishes from top local chefs, including Noodles, Tofu, Beef, Turkey, Mushrooms and more from some of our favorite purveyors (see list below).

Karasu, karasubk.com

French Louie, frenchlouienyc.com

Selamat Pagi, selamatpagibrooklyn.com

Mission Chinese Food, missionchinesefood.com/brooklyn

MENU will be announced shortly …

DESSERT:
Mochi Ice Cream from Mochidoki, mochidoki.com

DRINKS:
Nikka Whisky cocktail, nikka.com

Mizu Shochu, mizushochu.com

Sake Discoveries, sakediscoveries.com

Senbird Tea, senbirdtea.com

VENDORS:
Wuhao tenugui (Japanese-style multi-purpose cloths), wuhaonyc.com

Handmade Cutlery by Kikuichi, kikuichi.net

Kimono and yukata rentals and sales from Kaede, kaedenyc.com

Tickets and information:

www.sumostew.com

(Must be 21+ to attend)

*The $60 ticket grants each participant a bento box, bowl of chankonabe, and 1 beer token, and 2 drink tickets to be used for sake, shochu, or a whisky cocktail – and round after round of sumo. More beer and additional drink tickets will be available for purchase at the event.

**A portion of the proceeds will be donated to the Japan Society. japansociety.org

CONTACTS:

Michael Harlan Turkell, [email protected], 646.808.4159

Harry Rosenblum, [email protected], 718.389.2982

ARIGATOGOZAIMASHITA:

Sun Noodle, ramen, sunnoodle.com

Heritage Foods, turkey, heritagefoods.com

Happy Valley Meat Co., beef, happyvalleymeat.com

Hodo Foods, *yuba, tofu, hodofoods.com

The Japanese Pantry, artisan Japanese pantry ingredients, thejapanesepantry.com

Regalis Foods, regalisfoods.com

Smallhold, mushrooms, smallhold.com

Kayanoya, dashi, usa.kayanoya.com

Breville, Control Freak induction burners, brevilleusa.com

*Yuba: A Kyoto delicacy, fresh yuba is rare even in Asia. Nutty, sweet and with a distinctive bite that is firm yet chewy, yuba is the thin veil that forms on the surface of heated soymilk as the cream and protein rise to the surface. Sometimes known as tofu skin, these greatly prized sheets are harvested by hand, and Hodo is the only organic, fresh yuba maker in the United States.

***SUMO logo by Taisan Tanaka, shogakaboz.jp

Details

Date:
March 19
Time:
8:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Cost:
$60
Website:
http://www.sumostew.com

Organizer

SUMO STEW
Phone:
6468084159
Email:
michael@harlanturk.com
Website:
http://www.sumostew.com

Venue

Brooklyn Brewery
79 North 11th Street between Berry Street and Wythe Avenue Williamsburg Brooklyn, NY 11249
Williamsburg Brooklyn, 11249 United States
+ Google Map