Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

NYU Symphony: “Making Sense Here and Now”

Apr 4, 2016 @ 8:00 pm - 10:00 pm

| Free

The NYU Symphony will return to the Symphony Space on Monday, April 4 with a concert of all twentieth and twenty-first century music that, to quote composer and noted critic Virgil Thomson, “makes sense here and now.”

Maestro Andrew Cyr will conduct the program that includes Anna Clyne’s Masquerade; George Antheil’s Symphony No. 4; Jason Treuting’s oblique music for 4 plus (blank), featuring Palladium Percussion; and the world premieres of works written for this occasion by Susanna Hancock and Nicholas Hall, winners of the 2016 NYU Steinhardt Composition Competition.

Hailed as “a prominent influence in the world of newly emerging music” (The Washington Post), Maestro Cyr is the Grammy-nominated conductor and founder of Metropolis Ensemble. Palladium Percussion is a quartet whose members––Russell Fisher, Gregory Auffredou, Adam Holmes, and Luis Jacome––are dedicated to performing the music of our time, such as Mr. Treuting’s (founding member of So Percussion) oblique music, written in 2010.

Imbued in this program is a grand sense of occasion and elaborate settings, ranging from Ms. Clyne’s (recent Composer-in-Residence, Chicago Symphony) Masquerade (2013 BBC Radio 3 commission for the Last Night of the Proms), representing “acrobatics, exotic street entertainers, dancers, fireworks…masked guises, and elaborate settings…drawn from original mid-18th century promenade concerts held in London’s pleasure gardens” to Antheil’s WWII-era 4th Symphony, described admiringly by Thomson as a “comical, brash complexity…containing every kind of joke, acrobatic turn, patriotic reference, and glamorous monstrosity.” The work, championed by Leopold Stokowski and premiered by the NBC Symphony Orchestra, represents Antheil’s American comeback, following the calamitous reception of his now iconic Ballet Mécanique.

Nicholas Hall’s work, “Listening Through an Open Door” (2016) was originally composed for the JACK String Quartet and is expanded here for the NYU Symphony. Susanna Hancock’s “Beghilolia” (2016) evokes the soundworld of John Luther Adams, exploring “facets of color, texture, contour, specialization, and acoustic phenomena.”


Apr 4, 2016
8:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Event Category:


New York University


Symphony Space
2537 Broadway
New York, NY 10025 United States
+ Google Map